The Best Of Roxy Music by: Roxy Music

The Best Of Roxy Music

Our Price: €6.79 (£5.39 / £5.52 inc. Irish VAT)
Availability: Usually dispatched within 24 hours

Publisher: EMI
Release date:
Media: Audio CD


  • CD

Track List

  • Avalon (1999 Digital Remaster)
  • More Than This (1999 Digital Remaster)
  • Jealous Guy (Edit) (2000 Digital Remaster)
  • Over You (1999 Digital Remaster)
  • Same Old Scene (1999 Digital Remaster)
  • Oh Yeah! (1999 Digital Remaster)
  • Angel Eyes (1999 Digital Remaster)
  • Dance Away (1999 Digital Remaster)
  • Both Ends Burning (1999 Digital Remaster)
  • Love Is The Drug (1999 Digital Remaster)
  • Out Of The Blue (1999 Digital Remaster)
  • All I Want Is You (1999 Digital Remaster)
  • Mother Of Pearl (1999 Digital Remaster)
  • Street Life (1999 Digital Remaster)
  • Do The Strand (1999 Digital Remaster)
  • Pyjamarama (1999 Digital Remaster)
  • Virginia Plain (1999 Digital Remaster)
  • Re-Make/Re-Model (1999 Digital Remaster)

Similar Products

Editorial Review

At the start of the 1970s, when the music world was ruled by grim longhairs and wafflesome prog rockers, Roxy Music appeared to have beamed in from another planet. Impossibly alien and exotic, they bucked contemporary trends by being kitsch, avant-garde, experimental and yet unashamedly pop. Bryan Ferry was the louche, sensual front man, Brian Eno threw his deconstructionist spanner in the works and they played songs that sounded like demented, sexy logarithms. After Eno left in 1973, frustrated that Ferry was marginalising his input, Roxy became a different beast entirely, developing a suave, sophisticated pop-soul that abandoned the art-rock niche to embrace a wider audience. This lush Best Of compilation, released to accompany their reunion tour (minus Eno), captures both sides of Roxy and, true to the subversive spirit that informed their early years, does so in reverse order. This anti-chronology means they open with the languid, supper-club croon of 1980s hits "Avalon" and "More Than This", plus the beauteous cover of John Lennon's "Jealous Guy", then peel back the years through mid-period gems like "Dance Away" and "Love Is The Drug" before closing with the hyperventilating, superbly twisted bubblegum of "Pyjamarama" and "Virginia Plain". A bonkers track-listing then but an essential souvenir of a band--and a talent--in a million. --Ian Gittins

Browse Categories

Leave a review...


Web Shop Ireland

Don't forget!

A gift certificate is easy and convenient, it can even be sent by email!

Get yours now!