GUY by: Steve Earle & The Dukes


Our Price: €12.29 (£9.98 / £10.23 inc. Irish VAT)
Availability: Usually dispatched within 24 hours

Publisher: New West
Release date:
Media: Audio CD

Track List

  • Dublin Blues
  • L.A. Freeway
  • Texas 1947
  • Desperados Waiting for a Train
  • Rita Ballou
  • The Ballad of Laverne and Captain Flint
  • The Randall Knife
  • Anyhow, I Love You
  • That Old Time Feeling
  • Heartbroke
  • The Last Gunfighter Ballad
  • Out in the Parking Lot
  • She Ain't Going Nowhere
  • Sis Draper
  • New Cut Road
  • Old Friends

Similar Products

Editorial Review

1. Dublin Blues
2. L.A. Freeway
3. Texas 1947
4. Desperados Waiting for a Train
5. Rita Ballou
6. The Ballad of Laverne and Captain Flint
7. The Randall Knife
8. Anyhow, I Love You
9. That Old Time Feeling
10. Heartbroke
11. The Last Gunfighter Ballad
12. Out in the Parking Lot
13. She Ain't Going Nowhere
14. Sis Draper
15. New Cut Road
16. Old Friends

Steve Earle was nineteen and had just hitchhiked from San Antonio to Nashville in 1974. Back then if you wanted to be where the best songwriters were you had to be in there. Guy Clark had moved to Nashville and if you were from Texas, Guy Clark was king.

Flash forward more than forty years. In the fall of 2018, Steve and The Dukes went into House Of Blues studio in Nashville and recorded GUY in six days. "I wanted it to sound live...When you've got a catalog like Guy's and you're only doing sixteen tracks, you know each one is going to be strong."

Earle and his current, perhaps best-ever Dukes lineup, take on these songs with a spirit of reverent glee and invention. But in the end GUY leads the listener back to its beginning, namely Guy Clark, which is what any good 'tribute' should do. GUY is a saga of friendship, its ups and downs, what endures.

Browse Categories

Leave a review...


Web Shop Ireland

Don't forget!

A gift certificate is easy and convenient, it can even be sent by email!

Get yours now!